top of page

Let's Talk Anxiety: As told by Houston Occupational Therapist, Jerry Chesson, OTA


 

Meet Jerry Chesson! He is a Certified Occupational Therapist servicing the Houston area who battles anxiety. Here is how he manages his symptoms to maintain optimal health while maintaining his strength to provide quality care to his patients.

"My anxiety was once taking a serious toll on me. "


Due to having social anxiety, I would often find myself making every excuse in the book as to why I could not attend a function outside of work/business hours.


It may sound weird to some that I have social anxiety because I tend to carry conversation quite well when it comes to me performing my job duties, and being in the healthcare industry for over six years.





Frequent communication with families and other disciplines is to be expected. So, if you want to keep a job you better play/be the part.


The most challenging aspect of working as a COTA in the Home Health Industry, and managing my anxiety is constantly having to adjust to changes. Every day may not always be the same routine, or go as planned. That includes new patients being added to my caseload and stressing myself out wondering if we will be a good match. In terms of energy, and personal chemistry, will I be in a safe, welcoming, and judgmental-free zone? Just Some of the thoughts that frequently run through my mind. Now that I have been doing it for quite some time now. It feels like I am starting to come to terms with myself to just allow things to come as they are and to not stress about things I really can not control even though I find that to be an ongoing internal battle.


However, right now my anxiety is pretty much being managed well with my baby Aston, exercising, medication, meditation, reality show clip highlights, and 90s to the early 2000s R&B music. They all bring me a sense of comfort and peace.


 

Work-life Balance?


"My work-life balance as of now is not the best being that I work in the home health industry. My work always comes home with me daily, and it even bleeds into my off days now most of the time…..


At home is when I am the most focused, and relaxed to complete the remaining portion of my job, the documentation for reimbursement. I am still trying to figure out the best plan of action to obtain the ultimate work-life balance.


As of now, I have decided that I will focus on providing quality hands-on treatment throughout the week as I always do, I now take Fridays, and Saturdays if I am not working for some me time. On Sunday I complete and submit any remaining documentation. So far this is the best plan that works for my sleep schedule, and to manage my anxiety.


Although, I am thinking about waking up early every morning throughout the week to finish any documentation from the day prior. But, my anxiety is always leaving me to self-doubt and over think everything, lol ."


 

Are you struggling with Anxiety?


Here are a few providers the TXMHD believes can assist you on your journey to taking back control of your life.



ADIA NABA, LPC (Houston Texas)
















Dr. Henrietta Evans, DNP, PMHNP (Kingwood Texas)

















Keilah Baker Ford, PMHNP (Kingwood Texas)


































 




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page